The New Modern Lights

The New Modern Lights

Weaving the sensibilities of fuzzy indie dream-pop into a lyrical journey in the search for something unique in the mundanity of life in Singapore, The New Modern Lights create a soundtrack to teenage love and heartbreak, marrying sparkling melodies with a backdrop of ethereal and melancholic textures.

Formed in 2015 when they were schoolmates, The New Modern Lights comprises Darius Oon (vocals/guitars), Ethan Lew (guitars), Doran Oon (synths), Adriel Ong (bass) and Bruce Tan (drums). Drawing influence from the heyday of new wave and post-punk, the quintet recalls the likes of New Order, Smashing Pumpkins and Yuck.

After releasing their debut single Runaway in 2018, the band has continued making their mark on the Singapore music scene, participating in the Noise Music Mentorship Programme (2018) and earning themselves several nominations at the inaugural Singapore Youth Music Awards. The band plans to continue building their reputation as a live act, with a debut EP scheduled for release in late 2019.

The New Modern Lights is a Baybeats Budding Band.

Baybeats Budding Band Profile

The New Modern Lights

By Amelia Amari
Read now


Book Now

We can’t wait to share more awesome content with you. This is going to be so much fun.

Give us a heads up on the topics that interest you:

In Touch

Let’s take our relationship to the next level. Get the latest scoop on what’s going on around you, from new exhibits, free concerts to art festivals.